Today I noticed a JavaScript error on my site, on investigation I saw the following JavaScript code in the page source:
My investigations found that where I downloaded the template from was a nice (NOT) little site called http://www.templatesbrowser.com/. Now what they do is add a “functions.php” file in the original code base, then call a method from the footer “credits();” which is in the functions.php file:
More information was found from www.onnoot.com/:
This produces a link at the bottom of every WordPress page, that is invisible for human readers.
Templatesbrowser.com apparently does this to increase the pagerank of certain websites. We’re not sure if Google falls for this little link spam trick. But if Google does find out that your page contains link spam, you risk being punished. That could mean that your website is removed from Google’s search result pages.
So for those who don’t know I hope this was useful, if any people out there are crackers/hackers do me a favour and pull their site down
So… you downloaded a bunch of php code from a template website and simply ran it without checking first?
errm.. there might be a flaw in this type of workflow.
FastEddie
January 24th, 2008
Yet another reason to use BlogCFC and not WordPress.
todd sharp
January 24th, 2008
@FastEddie - well yeah I suppose that wasn’t the smartest thing to do!
@Todd - yep, I use BlogCFC at work a bit. To be honest you just can’t beat the hosting plan I’m on at the moment which only has PHP. I am considering getting another plan which will cost a bit but give me ColdFusion. I/when that happens I’ll look to move to BlogCFC or MachBlog etc
Michael Sharman
January 24th, 2008
@todd - not to dis Blog.CFC, but there are a lot more cool Wordpress themes than BlogCFC themes!
Hmm…maybe there’s some opportunity there…
Rachel
January 25th, 2008
I have been a frequent visitor of this blog for some time now, so I thought it would be a good idea to leave you with my thanks.
Regards,
Jim Mirkalami
Jim Mirkalami
February 6th, 2008
I like your blog theme. I want to use it on my blog.
Can you please tell me from where I can download these theme?
Many thanks
——————————————————————————–
Dan owner of the future gadgets blog future gadgets and inventions
Dan (future gadgets blog)
February 29th, 2008
ha, thanks. I had the same.
Nick
May 14th, 2008